Planning Pays Off

July 28, 2014 § Leave a comment

Still inspired by Dinner A Love Story, and I wanted to share how the week played out based on Sunday’s planning/shopping.  I create a new meal plan list in Evernote each week, and this is also where I make my grocery list.  It’s great because I can pull it up on my iPhone or Pebble Smartwatch.

Here’s my plan:

Meatless Monday- Build Your Own Risotto
Prepare Taco Meat for Tuesday Dinner

Taco Tuesday- Beef and Cheese Tacos for the family (Mommy is having dinner with friends at Cafe Touche)
Defrost Chicken
Prepare Tzatziki Sauce

Wacky Wednesday- Chicken Kabobs, Pita Bread, Rice, and Tzatziki Sauce
Dentist appointments, skewer Chicken Kabobs in the morning, ready to throw on the grill, put rice in rice cooker for Vince to turn on
Order Irv and Shelly’s

Slow Cooker Thursday- Pulled Pork Sandwiches
Defrost Ground Lamb
Chop Vegetables 
Make Quinoa
Pack Picnic Basket for Concert In The Park

Friday Concert In the Park- Lamb Sliders, Chickpea and Veggie Tagine, Cheese and Crackers, Bonfire Pouch of Wine

MEATLESS MONDAY:  BUILD YOUR OWN RISOTTO SERVED WITH TOMATO AND WHITE PEACH SALAD

IMG_9398IMG_9404

Started with sauteed garlic scapes to flavor the risotto.

IMG_9406 IMG_9408

Roasted multi-colored carrots and red peppers.  Sauteed mushrooms and parsley.

IMG_9412  IMG_9414 IMG_9413

 

Grilled chicken, cannelli beans, asparagus, marinated artichoke hearts, fresh spinach, peas, sundried tomatoes, assorted olives, pecorino cheese, and pesto completed the spread.

IMG_9419

TACO TUESDAY:  BEEF AND CHEESE TACOS FOR VINCE AND THE KIDS, DINNER AT CAFE TOUCHE WITH FRIENDS FOR MAUREEN

Prepared the taco meat Monday night, so all they had to do was warm it up.

IMG_9420 IMG_9426

WACKY WEDNESDAY:  CHICKEN KABOBS, GRILLED PITA BREAD, RICE, AND TZATZIKI SAUCE

Usually “Wacky Wednesday” is breakfast for dinner, but that was a bit too labor intensive for the week since Owynn and I had dentist appointments.  So, I made the tzatziki sauce Tuesday night after Cafe Touche, and I skewered/seasoned the kabobs in the morning for Vince to throw on the grill.  And the Emma turned the rice cooker on to make the rice.  Worked out great.

IMG_9430

SLOW COOKER THURSDAY:  PULLED PORK SANDWICHES

Remember the Pork Ragu I made on Sunday?  Well, I froze the leftovers to make pork sandwiches…no slow cooker needed today.  Bought some yummy rolls.  And made a big salad to accompany our sandwiches.

Pulled-Pork-Blog-Pics-4-300x200

FRIDAY CONCERT IN THE PARK:  LAMB SLIDERS

  • 1/2 cup yogurt, drained for an hour if possible
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 1/2 x clove garlic, minced and cooked slightly
  • 1/4 cup mint leaves, minced
  • 1 lb ground lamb (not lean)
  • 1/4 cup minced fresh parsley
  • 2 tbsp cup minced onion
  • salt and pepper
  • pinch ground allspice
  • 4-6 x whole wheat dinner or slider rolls
  • cucumber slices
  1. Prepare the Yogurt Sauce by combining yogurt with next 4 ingredients (through mint leaves)
  2. Mix ground lamb with fresh parsley, minced onion and spices.  Form into slider patties
  3. Toast rolls.
  4. To serve top roll with one lamb burger, yogurt sauce and slices of cucumber.

2fab5da777ce

Dreamy night for a concert in the park.

IMG_9440

Here are some of my favorite items to stock in the pantry:

IMG_9424 IMG_9423 IMG_9422

Beanitos…just because they’re delicious (non-GMO, gluten free, soy free).  Learn more about the benefits of Raw Unfiltered Apple Cider Vinegar With The ‘Mother’.  My mother has always been ahead of her time.  I think I’ve shared before that as a kid we had apple cider vinegar in our water.  No, we never had soda or juice or anything fun to drink.  I’m super grateful for that today…Thanks Mom!  I use Coconut Oil for many things, but one is oil pulling.  My nephew shared this little secret with me over a year ago and I’ve seen more and more information supporting his claim.

Enjoy another week of food and love.

I get too hungry for dinner at eight. I like the theater, but never come late. I never bother with people I hate. That’s why the lady is a tramp. Lorenz Hart   ‘The Lady Is a Tramp’ (music by Richard Rodgers)

xo

Maureen

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Planning Pays Off at emaoin.

meta

